2008

This year has come and gone.  So many things have happened.  Some I can remember vividly and others I know I should remember but I don’t.  I think the biggest thing that happened this year is my husband and I bought a house in April.

front-house

January:  I can’t really remember anything major happening in January.  My blog moved from Blogger to Wordpress and has never looked back .  Though there have been times this year that is has been a very sad blog.   The biggest thing that happened was we joined the HDTV world and bought a new TV.  I also tried to do the Blog 365  and failed horribly before I even began.

February:  For my birthday in February the present fairy came to visit and I got a new camera.  Since then I have been clicking away.  Taking more pictures than even I know what to do with. (present fairy just in case you need ideas for 2009’s birthday a new Nikor lens for said camera would rock.)  I discovered that the Red Bull delivery truck driver isn’t the brightest crayon in the box and that I hate presidential election years with a passion.  I also got to welcome my god son Oliver to the world. 

March:  We started looking at buying a house.  We found one we loved and started getting all of the piles of paperwork together.  My son celebrated his 10 birthday and is no long a single digit number kid.  Never to go back again.

April:  This month seemed to start stressful and stayed that way.  Along time friend of ours needed help so hubby and I went and “rescued” her.  Her and her two girls came and stayed with us and caused more trouble than good.  She finally left and I haven’t heard from her since.  Our house was finished being build, we closed and moved in.  I was also reminded how much I love going rollerskating and that I don’t do things like that often enough.  April was a busy month!!!

May:  The only thing I can recall happening was my hometown was hit by a tornato.  It was so surreal.  I was the one calling my family to make sure they were okay.  Since I moved to Oklahoma that has been the routine.  Tornado hits Oklahoma , family panics, checks a map and calls to make sure we are alive.  This time it was the other way around.  Also due to the move my blog practically vanished once again.  I was to busy trying to find things in boxes,  playing taxi to get my kids to school and back everyday plus trying to sleep in there somewhere.

June:  I discovered the pitfalls of owning your own home and the neighbors that you are stuck with.  I also discovered that I should save up for the next time we move and have someone do it for me.  My garage still has stuff that needs to be unpacked or given away to Goodwill.  Anyone need a couch.  Mine is in my garage and it won’t fit in the new house.  Need to find a new home and craigslist didn’t work.  Cera had her birthday this month also and was upset that she didn’t have any new friends to have a party with.  I will be paying for that next year.

July:  10 years had passed since hubby graduated from high school so we attended the reunion.  Thinking for some reason that 10 years is a long time for people to grow up and change and that it might actually be fun to go.  Boy was I wrong.  Clicks all over again.  Though the trip wasn’t a complete bust we got to see some really good friends and my husbands family.  This was the first trip we had taken anywhere without the kids.  reunion1

We started putting up a chair rail in the kitchen so the walls would last longer than year.  It was reconfirmed that I work with some pretty strange people.  Then to finish the month off I got a new hair cut and died it.

hair

August:  School started back up for the kiddos and this month just flew.  A friend I had been working with for years passed away.  I didn’t get to go the funeral because I didn’t hear about it till it was to late to go.  Jeff Dunham found his way into my life and made laugh.  Him and his damn puppets, I love them all.  I didn’t even post in my blog once.  Not like I have ever done that before.

September:  My kids were tested at school for there reading level.  John came back with a 6th grade reading level.  I am still so proudof him.  I installed a drop down drawer in the kitchen and showed my klutyness by dropping the hammer on my foot.  I also found a new game that my bestest friend found annoying.  My son became the only 10 year old ever to break a pair flex frame glasses, the kind that isn’t supposed to break.  Then two days later broke the back up pair.  Try explaining to his new teacher why he can’t see the chalkboard because he has no glasses.

October:  I heart October.  I decorated my house with spiders and spider webs.  I finally posted about my friend passing away.  I still miss him but have found ways to remember him and laugh the way we used to.

November:  With November came the movie Twilight and a new Harry Potter trailer.  I don’t know which I was more excited about.  Okay honestly I didn’t quite get the Twilight thing till later.  So I was more excited about the Harry Potter movie trailer.  Hubby and I had our first Thanksgiving in our new house.  We deep fat  fried the Turkey and no it did not blow up.  This month I also wrote a little more about my moms illness.  How I have been thinking about it more and more as my kids get older.

December:  It seems that just like August this month went by in a blur.  I vaguely remember doing some Christmas shopping and spending time with my family.  I also remember spending an awful amount of money fixing my husbands heater core on his car.  Then while it was at the mechanic on Thanksgiving it getting broken into.  I read all four books in the Twilight series and had a girls night out to see the movie.  Now I got the Twilight craze.  Even though the month didn’t start out well it did end well.  The Christmas Present Fairy came and visited and I got a new mixer and some other great goodys for my camera.

All in all this year has been great.  We bought a new house.  I got a new rockin digital camera.  Made a trip to Colorado for a High School reunion that sucked but saw some great old friends.  Discovered that some people think they want help when all they really just want a hand out.  Found out that you can really break a pair of flex frame glasses and that if you can’t figure out how give them to my 10 year old son he’ll do it for you.  I also discovered I hate painting my house and  I still have more than 3/4 of it left to paint, damn cheap paint that wipes away with water.

One Response to “2008”

  1. Okay… five questions for you…

    1) If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be and why?
    2) What character from Harry Potter do you identify with the most and why?
    3) You’re stranded on a desert island, what four things do you bring with you and why?
    4) If you could change places with anyone in your life, who would it be and why?
    5) What’s your favorite memory from the last 20 years?

Leave a Reply

