New Dinner

I am always on the look out for easy, healthy, inexpensive meals for my family.  On of the blogs I read she started to put some of there familes recipies on there.  A few days ago she posted this one.  I already had a few of the things needed to make this dish.  So on my way home this morning I got the chicken and dry italian dressing that I still needed.  Let me tell you it was yummy.  Though I made a few changes and some additions that I think helped. 

You have to know our family has a slight obsession with cream cheese.  If we can put it in our food and have it still taste good it will most likely end up in there.  It goes in chili, mashed potatoes, with salsa, and even in spaghetti sauce.  I think you get the picture.  So when the sauce was thinner that we wanted I added two more blocks of cream cheese along with some mushrooms.

We also decided the next time we make it we will try putting some brocoli or celery in it so we have a veggie as well.  We chose to serve it over macaroni noodles.  It was yummy and there is some left for dinner some other night.

CREAM CHEESE CHICKEN

In a crockpot, place one stick of butter, one can cream of chicken soup, 4-5 chicken breasts and one packet of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix – the dry stuff.  Cover and cook on high for 4-6 hours or so. At the end of the cooking time, remove lid and add one block of cream cheese. (I usually cut the chicken into small pieces at this point.) Heat until the cream cheese melts and stir together.  Serve over rice, pastina, noodles, or, as one of my friends does, over biscuits.

Leave a Reply

